Idle Thoughts

What makes a successful pitch?

Blood, sweat, determination? Or just a good idea?

In my experience over the last year or so pitching character and story ideas to comics, it has been revealed to me that idle thoughts can make for a successful pitch.

Sometimes we can, or indeed, I can try too hard to mould something together to fit in to what I perceive to be a house style or the next big thing. Spending time producing nice artwork to back up my brilliant idea, only to find it fired into the reject bin with little or no explanation as to why. Sometimes things just don’t cut it out there in comic land, and I’m OK with that but sometimes it leaves me puzzled.

But cheers for idle thoughts, because idle thoughts create the best ideas. All my published work so far has been the result of an idle thought, a day dream whilst walking to work. Today I was informed of an editors interest in another one of my idle thoughts, of which now needs to be fully realised into a funny character to entertain the readers of The Dandy. This time with a bit of input and guidance from Dandy Ed, Craig Graham, which is great. Hopefully this character will see the light of day very soon. I’ve just got to bring my pencil sketch to life now and write some scripts.

Hooray for comics!

3 comments
  1. Stu Munro said:

    I agree, Steve. My ‘career’ in comics is a similar story. Idle thoughts, silly conversations with friends and sometimes a realisation that something would work as a comic.

    I can trace the genesis of every comic I’ve ever drawn, and it’s usually based on the above. I’d love to know where other people get their inspiration, but even more than that, how to make it in to a living!

    Congratulations on another successful Dandy pitch, too!

  2. sjbeckettdesign said:

    Thanks Stu. My pitch was originally for a mini strip but was upgraded to a full page! Brill. I’ve just got to make sure the scripts are funny now. Gulp!

    • Congratulations Steve! 😀
      I agree, my idle thoughts always prove to be my most successful, Robert Robot for example was thought up in Maths! Of all the places!

      Also to make sure a comic strip is funny always have a clear building plot throughout then I final joke (usually ones which the reader can see rather than read) are funniest (for example the funniest Daredevil Dad was where Dad attempts to take his son to school with them ending up on the top of school bus, the joke is visual rather than through dialect and makes the story funnier on the whole. The final joke should also rarely ever be a pun, puns are acceptable only if there is another character there moaning about the pun (saying something “It’s bad enough being in the mess we’re in without you having to make a terrible pun as well!”), Ray Fears experienced too many ‘just pun endings’ in my opinion making it the worst out of your strips sadly. Another suggestion is too get yourself a funny scriptwriter who can supply you with hundreds of funny storylines as well as giving you ideas for comic strips.

      Whatever way you go with this though Steve, I’m always backing you up and wishing you good luck all the way through! 🙂

Leave a Reply

