Livin’ the Dreamworks!

Sample character drawings which helped me get the gig drawing Home!

Sample character drawings which helped me get the gig drawing Home!

I’m excited to announce that I recently pencilled issue 2 of the brand new Titan comic series based on the Dreamworks movie, HOME.

The comic is written by Max Davison (Simpsons comic), and follows the adventure’s of Oh, as he seeks employment with hilarious consequences! It was a good fun script to work with and I had a blast drawing it. What was really special was the chance to have input from the artists over at Dreamworks studios. Here is how it worked…

Boov

I would rough up a batch of pages which were then sent on to Dreamworks. One of their artists would then sketch over the top of my roughs and adjust anything that wasn’t quite “on model”. It was

Slushious the car with suggested adjustments by Dreamworks.

Slushious the car with suggested adjustments by Dreamworks.

an interesting process, and as I then worked on my finished pencils using the notes as a guideline  it was cool to see the line work change. I certainly feel that my drawing overall has benefitted from this process and I hope to be able to work on some more Dreamworks titles in the future.

Another change for me was having my pencils, inked and coloured by other artists. I have always finished the work myself. It’s a funny feeling seeing pages come back which don’t quite look how you imagined. This is of course the usual way of working on US comic titles.

Issue 2 is available for pre order now from Titan comics and is on sale 12th August, so just a few weeks away. The issue will then be included in a collected edition with issue 1.

Pencils for page 2 of Home issue 2.

Pencils for page 2 of Home issue 2.

oh!employment2(2)

Leave a Reply

