The Barons’ War

Some of you may know that my hobby is miniature wargaming. So it has been a real joy for me to work with Andy Hobday and Footsore miniatures.

Towards the end of last year I was commissioned to work with Andy on his Baron’s War project. This involved some illustration and design work, including the logo and promotional graphics and illustrations for the book, leaflets, packaging and tokens. During a conversation with Andy I dropped in that I used to design and layout books before making the move into comics. So this saw me make a return to book design when I was invited to put together Andy’s new rule book, The Barons’ War, A Medieval Skirmish Game.

Originally planned to be a 50 page pamphlet to be given away to the backers of The Baron’s War 2 Kickstarter campaign which is centered around a miniature figure range sculpted by Paul Hicks. As the rules were play tested and developed the page count of the book grew and grew and grew and continued to grow as I began working on the design and layout.

I think, with my understanding of how tabletop wargames work, this helped me put the book together quickly and helped me decipher Andy’s scribbles when illustrating the books diagrams!

Coming in at a hefty 136 pages, and sporting a beautiful cover painting by Peter Dennis, the pefect bound A5 book is now available to order from Footsore Miniatures and Games both in print and pdf format.

I’m really pleased with how the book has turned out and I’m hoping for more design and layout work in the future. Graphic design seems to be a business area that is growing for me again and definitely something I will be embracing.

So if you are a rules writer or games company looking for a book designer please do get in touch!

Leave a comment